Old Edwardians CC vs JCC (Sa-1)

Match Result

Sa-1141/2 v 229/6Win


Match Stats:
Old Eds – 229/6 in 35 overs
JCC – 141/2 in 16.3 overs
JCC won the rain-affected match due to a superior run rate

Toss: JCC

Much has been written over past decades about the importance of winning the toss in the game of cricket. This proved to be the case in this past weekend’s away game against Old Eds.

The main concern in deciding to field first would have been the threat of rain more than any other consideration such as JCC’s tried and tested philosophy of batting first whenever possible, or the opposition’s home ground advantage.

And a wise decision this proved to be.

While only 6 wickets were claimed by the JCC bowlers in Old Eds’ 32 overs – three overs were lost to slow over-rate, with 10 penalty runs per over added to the opposition’s score – the opposition were never in a dominant position.

Tanaka was his usual tight, miserly self – claiming 2 wickets for 29 off 6 overs – while Peter displayed his experience by keeping to a short-of-a-length attack that landed him 2 wickets for only 20 runs in his six overs.

Despite the disappointment of conceding unnecessary runs to the opposition because of the slow over-rate, JCC’s openers Chris van der Merwe and Tanaka (TK) Chivanga aid into the Old Eds bowlers with relish. It is no surprise that both eventually fell to skied shots, but not before Chris had put on 39 off 21 and TK had smashed eight 4s and a 6 to race to 48 off 24.

With such a strong base to work from, JP van Aswegen and Dinolan Doorsamy were able to continue the job at a firm, but less brisk pace before the umpires called off play due to lightning that preceded the afternoon thunderstorm.

Having amassed 141 runs in 16.3 overs at more than 8 runs to the over, JCC were awarded the well-deserved and much-needed win.


Player R B 4s 6s O M R W
Chris van der Merve3921510000
Tanaka Chivanga48248160292
JP van Aswegen26333150451
Dinolan Doorsamy2118400000
Stef le Roux00000000
John Machava00000000
Thembile Shude000050371
Pranaav Naidoo00000000
Siyabonga Peter000062202
Meshen Govender000060421
Bjorn Watkins000050221


Date Time League Season
Nov 19, 2016 1:00 pm Saturday-1 2016/17


Allan Lawson Oval (Old Eds Main)